All Collections
Metric Guidance
Sustainable Oceans and Seas Practices
Sustainable Oceans and Seas Practices
Updated over a week ago

This metric is intended to capture whether the organization followed sustainable seas and oceans practices or policies during the reporting period.

There are a number of international certifications available on sustainable seas and oceans practices. Examples include:

  1. Marine Stewardship Council (MSC): This certification is awarded to fisheries that meet rigorous standards for sustainable fishing practices. It is a widely recognized certification that is based on principles of the United Nations Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) Code of Conduct for Responsible Fisheries.

  2. ISO 14001: This is an international standard for environmental management that can be applied to businesses of any size and type, including those operating in or near the ocean and coastal areas. It helps organizations to identify and control their environmental impacts and improve their overall environmental performance.

  3. Green Marine: This certification is for companies involved in shipping, ports, terminals and shipyards, which are committed to reducing their environmental footprint. It covers twelve environmental performance indicators related to air emissions, spills, and effluent, biodiversity, community impacts, and more.

  4. Aquaculture Stewardship Council (ASC): This certification is awarded to aquaculture operations that meet rigorous standards for responsible and sustainable fish farming practices.

For information on sustainable sea and oceans practices, please refer to the UN Global Compact Sustainable Oceans Principles:

Did this answer your question?